Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

My 15 Minutes: of Fame and Freedom

Posted by flsquared on November 7, 2009

First for the “Fame”!:

Yesterday, I was surprised to receive a note from WordPress that my Toddler Tips had been chosen as one of their “Freshly Pressed”:

superblog

How exciting!!!  I hope all of my new viewers are enjoying my posts, and that you will stick around for our adventures to come.

And now for the “Freedom”:

My youngest just turned 1 last week.  I think something happens to our boys when they hit that magic first birthday.  It seems like a switch is flipped and are immediately more independent and just happier in general.  Which, in turn, means that Mama is a bit less exhausted at the end of the day….and thus my 15 minutes of “free time” before I crash for the night.

So what should I do with this newfound luxury?

15 minutes is not a lot of time, but I do want to take advantage and take some time for myself to relax and recharge.

Here are some ideas that I have, in no particular order:

1.  Browse through a (non-child-related) magazine or read a few pages of a book.
2.  Take a walk.
3.  Chat with my husband about something non-work, non-child related, just like the “old days”.
4.  Organize and continue unpacking (we’re now at the 10-box-post-move state…if we’re not careful, those boxes will still be full until our next move!).
5.  Bake cookies or other treats (probably more than 15 minutes, but perhaps I can prep as I am cooking dinner?).
6.  Have a glass of wine or tea and just be one with my thoughts.
7.  Call up / email a friend I haven’t talked to in a while.
8.  Continue knitting the blanket for David.
9.  Clean something.
10.  Go to sleep early.

OK, I just nixed the two “work related” items that escaped my fingers before I thought them through.

What do you suggest?  What sort of things do you do when you only have 15 minutes?

4 Responses to “My 15 Minutes: of Fame and Freedom”

  1. Mary said

    Hi! I began following you through that WordPress recommendation! I think you have a great blog, and I look forward to reading more!

    I totally feel your need for relaxation after watching two very young children (4 & soon-to-be 3 for me). What I find enjoyable during those peaceful moments is online crossword, challenging and educational! =)

    Enjoy having more “you” time, and belated happy birthday to your baby!

    • flsquared said

      Mary, What a wonderful idea! It’s been so long since I have done crosswords, and it would definitely help me snap out of the “toddler speak” mode I am in at the end of the day. I am going to add that one to my list for sure. Thanks!

  2. When I have 15 minutes I love to write. Whether it is blogging, writing in my journal, writing an email… WHATEVER! I just like to put pen to paper (or finger to keyboard) and collect whatever thoughts I have at that moment. Another suggestion I have for you is a pedicure. It obviously takes much longer than 15 minutes but it is such a great way to relax. Enjoy your new found “me time!”

    • flsquared said

      Oh my! A pedicure. I’m scared to even LOOK at my feet. LOL. Actually, that may be a nice idea, and probably no more than 15 or 20 minutes if I do it at home. A real mani-pedi is now on my list of things to do when the in-laws are in town for the holidays! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
