Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

Toddler Tip: Displaying Art Projects

Posted by flsquared on November 6, 2009

Now that my oldest boy is 2, he is constantly painting and coloring and creating all sorts of masterpieces with stickers. But where should we display them?

Posting them on the fridge won’t work:  I’m not a big fan of the cluttered look.  However, more importantly, while he enjoys taking a look at them from time to time, his little brother enjoys eating them more often than not.

I don’t have the energy or patience to create one of those crazy post-your-toddler’s-artwork display centers they talk about on TLC.

And, living in NYC, if there was a “big box” store solution, it would be beyond us.  Plus, money is tight and I’d rather improvise in some way.

After scratching my head for a bit, and collecting a number of projects in a box until I figured it out, I came across the perfect solution in my gifted subscription to Family Fun magazine (November 2009 issue, tip given by Heidi Hadfield):

Tape your favorite projects to the inside of your kitchen cabinets!

aaaaaablog

Awesome!  Everything is tidy, and yet when we want to take a peek at his artwork (or need to grab a bowl), we just open the cupboard.  It’s also a hit with Papa, who loves to come home, grab a snack, and check out what the little ones created today.

29 Responses to “Toddler Tip: Displaying Art Projects”

  1. Lovely idea. There’s also do-it-yourself framing of some of those masterworks, and then hanging them on the walls. I still love one particular portrait by my younger son at 6, and an abstract painted by my elder, at 7. They are among my most loved artworks, and always will be.

  2. Suzanne said

    What a great idea! My little one is just about 2, and we already have lots of artwork. Running out of space on the fridge. Thanks for this tip!

  3. What a great idea! I would not have thought to put the artwork on the inside of the cabinets. Until recently, I have packed the art and school work of my school-age daughter into a memory box. However, the box is now full. My two pre-school age children are also quite artistic, so I’ve had to get creative with the storage solutions. After considering several options, I’ve decided to do what several magazines have recommended – take photos of the best artwork and incorporate the photos into their scrapbooks. That way, we will have the memories of their artistry without being bogged down in hundreds of reams of paper.

    I will definitely start a Cabinet Studio as you suggested, before I take photos of the projects and discard them. Thanks for the tip!

    • flsquared said

      Great idea. I think it would be nice to save 1 or 2 things per year for when they are older, but pictures of a dozen or so “cute” projects is a great way to save the memories!

  4. Another good tip is to hang a thick string/thin piece of rope from one end of a wall to another. Then use clothes pins to clip the artwork to the string/rope. Keeps the pushpins/tape off the walls and is easily removable. 🙂 Good luck!

    —Megan

    http://adventuresinadoption.wordpress.com/

  5. Helen said

    Wow! This is one of the obviously good ideas that no one (almost) actually thinks of. Thanks.

  6. ane elene said

    Yes, it’s a good idea and it works very well! I’ve done it too with the drawings of my niece. And you should really, if you haven’t done it yet, collect all of those wonderful drawings in a folder. My mum did that with my drawings when I was a little girl, and today, this has become an inspiration for me in my art work!

    -greetings from Norway.

  7. Lorena said

    Hello. Nice post.

  8. raidamoon said

    What a great idea. My little Van Gogh is working his artistic talent to the max. I’m lucky if I can find the handle to the fridge half the time.

    Thanks for the tip. I love it.

  9. We use an Ikea wire curtain rod that comes with little clips hanging on it.

  10. I do this, too, with the artwork I receive from my preschool students. Here’s an example (in one of my blog entries):

    http://sterlingsmiths.wordpress.com/2009/11/03/little-things/

  11. Great post, Jennifer!

  12. Michelle said

    Hi
    Great Idea, I have been thinking of ways to display my little ones creative works and have come up with this. He is lucky enough to have his own bathroom, it does occasionally get used by guests. I have been thinking of away to decorate it and thought why not with his art work.

    So I painted the whole bathroom white, brought loads of frames from second hand shops, sprayed them and named the art work with random artsy names, like “dreaming trees” (for green splodges). So his bathroom has become an Art Gallery, so far every guest has loved it.

    • flsquared said

      I love it! What a fab idea! I especially love the idea of naming the pieces. I definitely want to do that once we have some “masterpieces” to show off.

  13. nice info

  14. Great idea. My son is still too young to create artwork but I’m going to have to keep this in mind for when the time comes.

  15. Ali said

    Thanks for the great idea!

    http://www.huyoungheaven.wordpress.com

  16. Oh, you make me feel so bad. You’re supposed to keep all that stuff? I must have been a terrible mother.

    • flsquared said

      Oh, please! I seriously doubt that.

      At this point, I keep it more for me than him. I loved that my mother kept a few things from our childhood, but my brother was not nearly as sentimental. We’ll see what happens with my little men.

  17. […] ART STORAGE TIP […]

  18. kelly said

    I love the idea, except several of my cabinets are glass. We started with the fridge, but then things started flying off the more kids we had. Now I am innundated with piles of individual work from artists insisting they get top billing. We did try framing some of the more stunning pieces but I now have to admit (with shame) that I throw some of it out. Ouch!

    • flsquared said

      Oh no! Perhaps it’s a good time for your kids to be able to choose which of their masterpieces they are able to display, giving each of them 2 or 3 spaces somewhere in the common areas and maybe a special box/folder for another dozen special items? Not sure if this will work since my kiddos don’t really express their opinions yet (about their artwork, anyway), but it’s worth a try.

  19. owen59 said

    Now our oldest sons are 21 and moved away, we have only recently taken down a framed cork board some 3 x 1.5 m in our family room, that had samples of their artwork from pre-school to highschool.

  20. Hey there everyone i was just introduceing myself here im a first time visitor who hopes to become a daily reader!

  21. […] Toddler Tip: Displaying Art Projects « Family Living 4 Less […]

  22. sabineschoepke said

    We have almost 6 year old twins who love to draw and paint. Being an art lover myself and having worked in this field in my ‘previous’ life – the pre-kids life – I just started a new little venture addressing the whole issue of ‘How to display your kid’s art’. I started converting my kids’ favorite pieces into canvas art. It looks amazing and the kids love seeing their artwork on canvas!! They are very proud of it and it is a great inspiration for them. Also, these pieces of art make great presents for grandma and the rest of the family!! We are currently building the website and should be up and running by Dec. 1st. The website is http://www.MyKidsArtOnCanvas.com .

Leave a Reply

 
