Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

10 Simple Pleasures for Fall Weather

Posted by flsquared on October 27, 2009

Oftentimes I find myself tuned in to a schedule or things that I (we) should be doing instead of just doing.  This morning I took a moment to sit back and watch my children play.  I don’t do this enough.

I was lucky as it was in this very moment that my sons started doing something so beautiful.  My 2 year old was twirling (or dancing, as he likes to call it) and my 1 year old was cheering him on, clapping and smiling.

I was witnessing pure joy.

As I watched them, I started to think about how our lives get so complicated and how this joy becomes more and more clouded over time.  Martha Beck, in her book Finding Your Own North Star, speaks to the conflict between our “Essential Self” (my pure-loving children) and our “Social Self” (my well-behaved children).  Her book asks some fantastically deep questions (I would often ponder these for days before being able to answer) that lead to the re-discovery of your inner-child…ahem, “Essential Self”.

But this blog post isn’t about my self analysis.

This morning, my children inspired me to think about some of my simple pleasures during the fall season.  Here goes:

1.  Waking up to the cool, crisp air while waiting for coffee to brew.
2.  Taking a walk in the park and watching the colored leaves fall from the trees.  I just love the autumn colors!
3.  Unpacking my sweaters and light jackets (I love love love sweater weather!) and putting them into our dresser.
4.  Sitting in a coffee shop, or on my sofa, and knitting.
5.  One pot meals and soups and stews!  mmmmmmm….
6.  Sitting on the terrace, drinking a hot tea or citron presse, and reading.
7.  Cuddling up with my husband under a blanket to watch a movie.
8.  When the coffee shops start the fireplace going (I wonder if they do that here?).
9.  Slowing down and spending more time at home with family and friends.
10.  Bundling under the covers for just 5 more minutes of sleep!

Leave a Reply

 
