Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

Meat as a Side Dish Recipe #5: Almost-Vegan Butternut Squash Soup

Posted by flsquared on October 26, 2009

First of all, let me explain the “Almost-Vegan” in the title.  I think that, as a life choice, being Vegan is terrific.  I will never choose to be one as I love my meat and dairy.  I also find cooking for Vegans a bit stressful (please don’t flame! I love you guys!) as I tend to improvise during my cooking and I freak out thinking that I will throw in the wrong ingredient and de-veganize the dish.

With this soup, for example, I did throw in (without thinking) about a cup of chicken broth.  So it’s obviously not vegan or even vegetarian anymore.  Normally, I would also finish it off with a dollop of plain yogurt on top.

Anyway, the soup turned out delish–so yummy and sweet that it could almost be a dessert.  Okay, not quite, but it was awesome!

The recipe was adapted from The Angelica Home Kitchen (it is called “Squash Potage”)

Ingredients:
* 2 tbsp olive oil (I used extra virgin)
* 1 large onion, coursely chopped
* 1 tsp sea salt
* 1 tbsp fresh ginger, minced
* 2 tsp cinnamon (the recipe asks for a stick)
* I added in a tsp of nutmeg (the recipe also asks for fresh sage, but I didn’t have any on hand so I skipped it)
* 3 cloves garlic, chopped
* 2 apples, chopped (the recipe asks for apple cider but I have a bunch of apples on hand)
* juice of 1/2 lemon
* large, already roasted butternut squash, probably about 4 or 5 lbs (recipe asks for a raw winter squash, chopped, but I already roasted mine)
* 2 or 3 chopped carrots
* 4 cups water or veggie stock (I used the chicken stock–oops!)

Directions:

Warm the oil over medium heat, add the onions and stir for about 10 min.  Add ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, and garlic for about 5 min.  Stir in apples, lemon juice, and carrots and the water/stock.  Bring to a boil.  At this point, I popped on the lid of the pressure cooker and let go until she hit full steam.  Then I turned off the heat and let it sit for about 10 min. (If you don’t have a pressure cooker, I would cook about 40 min – 1 hour.  You would also want to add your raw squash at this point).

After the pressure was released, I threw in the cooked squash, cooked it for about 5 min, and pureed it using a handheld mixer.

Soup-er easy (ha-ha, sorry).  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

 
