Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

Letting Go….

Posted by flsquared on March 18, 2009

We all have our weaknesses.

Even though I like to live simply, and even though it takes a very little amount of “stuff” to make me happy, and even though we try to send one thing out of the house for every thing that comes in, it seems like the amount of things we own keeps multiplying.

But I keep fighting the battle.

Right now, we’re preparing for my husband to graduate and a summer move from Pittsburgh to Manhattan.  While we live in a small space here, I’m afraid that the space may be smaller (and the kids bigger) after the move.

In preparation for the move, I am starting to sort through our things…. mostly the kids’ things.  I think the most difficulty I’m having is getting rid of outgrown clothing and streamlining “clothes-in-waiting”.

First of all, the clothes are so little and cute!  Not to mention the what ifs.  Mainly, what if we have another baby?

We’re not completely sure one way or another what we will do, but it’s a definite possibility.

In the end, I’ve decided to only keep clothes that fall into the following 4 categories:

  1. those that were given to me by my mom that I (or my brother) wore when we were little.
  2. those that were hand-knitted by me or my mother-in-law.
  3. one or two things from each size that we absolutely love.
  4. those that Victor has outgrown, but David can still wear.

Using those rules, I’ve already pulled out 7 boxes of clothes!  Amazing!!

If and when we have another baby, we can buy a few things at that point.  After all, it doesn’t make sense to lug around several boxes on a “what if”.

Leave a Reply

 
