Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

Toddler Tip: The Juice Box Dilemma (Resolved!)

Posted by flsquared on March 10, 2009

At some point last summer, Oscar and I started to worry that Victor was not getting enough liquid.  As we weaned him off the bottle, he began drinking less milk than before.  To make matters worse, he must have inherited my blah attitude toward water as he wouldn’t touch the stuff.

I tried giving him more milk….  Let’s just say that the diapers told me that was a bad idea.

I tried “sneaking” water into his diet by giving him soups, but he started to refuse to eat them.

And liquid fortified grapes could only go so far.

My mother suggested juice or Pedialyte.  Heck, it was better than having a dehydrated baby.  I reluctantly gave him a juice box and he drank it so quickly I thought his little tummy would explode.  But was juice the solution?  Everywhere I read, I was told that I should hold off on juice as it is filled with “empty calories” and could lead to obesity and tooth decay.

(Yes, I know, I’m overreacting, but I’m a mom.  That’s my prerogative!)

The compromise? :

We bought a bottle of juice and started putting 50% juice, 50% water.  Success!

Slowly, we started diluting more and more until we were at a tablespoon of juice per sippy.  Both Victor and his parents were happy.

Yet as the days progressed, and the bottle remained full, I started to worry that the juice would go bad before we finished it.  And, I still had 10 remaining juice boxes left over from Victor’s first birthday party.  

What to do, what to do….

The solution?  You guessed it:  

We use juice box juice to add to his sippy water!  One box usually lasts about a week so we always know the juice in Victor’s cup is fresh.  And he drinks his water like a champ.  Added bonus:  we can always grab one “to go” if we’re going to be out and about for a while.

Leave a Reply

 
