Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

Less is More: Citron Presse

Posted by flsquared on March 9, 2009

I’m not big on drinking water in the winter.  I prefer coffee, tea, milk, whatever.  

Living in Pittsburgh during the winter,where the air is cold and dry, and nursing a very hungry 4 month old has changed this practice.

This weekend, we went to “The Strip” and I picked up a bag of ten lemons for $2 (!!) to use in cooking and to make Citron Presses:

lemon

Eh? What’s a citron presse?

A couple of years ago, I skimmed through French Women Don’t Get Fat….for the recipes, of course.  (If you do read this book, get ready for some American bashing, which I did not appreciate and skipped over the best I could).  One of my discoveries was the “Citron Presse”:  hot water with a slice of lemon.

I know it sounds too simple to be earth shattering, but you have to try it!  It’s a great alternative to herbal tea or hot chocolate on a cold winter afternoon.  

Simply put a slice of lemon (or squeeze a wedge) into a cup and pour hot water on top of it.  I add a liitle honey as well.  Let it sit for about a minute, and you’re good to go.

As proof to how easy and yummy they are, check out the photo above.  I said I bought 10 lemons, right?

One Response to “Less is More: Citron Presse”

  1. […]  Sitting on the terrace, drinking a hot tea or citron presse, and […]

Leave a Reply

 
