Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

Babies are “cheap dates”

Posted by flsquared on March 1, 2009

This month’s American Baby includes an article that speaks to what babies enjoy.  With two boys under 18 months, I couldn’t wait to see what would please these little fellas.

What I read was great news to me:  the things that make baby happiest don’t cost a lot…and are oftentimes free.  
Here are a couple of my favorite “baby loves”:
  • Your face (How easy is that?  There is nothing more I enjoy than staring in wonder at my little men!  It’s nice to know that they enjoy it as much as I do.)
  • Banging (Yep!  I’m very familiar with that one.  Pots and bowls and wooden spoons are a favorite toy for my 18 month old)
  • Jewelry (My husband used to say that my son Victor would be a rich man… or a thief (!!) due to how much he loved shiny watches, bracelets, necklaces, ….)
  • The remote control and the cell phone (…and the computer keyboard–all of those buttons to push!)
  • Tickles (I was soooooo happy the day Victor giggled the first time when I tickled him!)
Notice anything in common with the items in the list above?  Yep, none of these favorites require any store-bought toys.  Hurrah!  It seems like our babes are thrilled to death to play with different household object and (gasp!) us.

Check out the rest of the article.

The following are some of my older son’s favorite (and free) toys:
  • Empty diaper boxes for putting toys in and taking them out
  • Full diaper boxes for stacking and climbing on top of
  • Empty oatmeal and yogurt containers
  • An old magazine or newspaper
  • Aforementioned kitchen utensils–measuring spoons and a whisk are also popular
  • His daddy
  • His mama
  • His baby brother
By the way, if you’d like to receive a free subscription to American Baby click here.
Leave a Reply

 
