Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

Give me a break! … from spending money, that is.

Posted by flsquared on February 28, 2009

In my mid-twenties, I moved to Spain for 3 years.  I thought that Europe would be different, but I didn’t expect such a culture shock.  

One of the things that I remember distinctly was how difficult it was to grocery shop.  Our work schedule was from 9-7, but we seldom left before 7:30 or 8.  By the time I got home after a 45 minute metro ride, it was 9pm and the grocery stores were closed.  The biggest challenge for me was that nearly everything was closed on Sunday.  If I didn’t get my shopping done on Saturday (or leave work at a decent hour one evening), I was out of luck.

While it is definitely more convenient here in the US, there is something to be said about not being able to shop on Sundays.  It forces you to slow down and spend time with your friends and family once a week.  It forces you to recognize that you don’t need to shop every day.  How cool is that?

I challenge everyone to take a break from shopping once a week.  If that’s not possible, try once every two weeks or even just once a month.  After it becomes habit, you won’t even miss it!
Leave a Reply

 
