Family Living 4 Less

Saving Money Without the Sacrifice!

Welcome to (FL)^2 !

Posted by flsquared on February 23, 2009

The other day, heard two ladies in the grocery store commenting on how prices keep rising and it is becoming more and more difficult to save money these days.  

Tell me about it! Here’s our story:

A year and a half ago my husband and I packed up and moved to Pittsburgh so he could pursue his MBA.  A week before classes started, we had our first son.  5 months later, I was laid off.  2 weeks after that, I learned we were pregnant (oops!) with our second son.  

Pregnant, with a newborn, having to temporarily relocate for a summer internship in Philadelphia, and knowing that we would be moving a year later, I knew it would be difficult to find another job.  

So here I am, a year later, a SAHM and loving it…..but trying to enjoy my time with my babies and still make ends meet.

Why a blog?  Ever since I can remember, my friends have turned to me for financial and budgeting advice.  I always seem to live pretty well, and always beneath my means.

I have been looking for tips to save money these days, and I seem to find two types of sources: 
The majority are (to me, at least) “obvious” solutions such as “turn off the lights if you aren’t using them” or “set your thermostat lower at night”.  Perhaps I come from an overly frugal family, but those are no-brainers to me.

The many other sites seem extreme, and would cause us to sacrifice and enjoy our time together less.  I’m not willing to do that.  For example, cloth diapering does save money, and while we do it for our newborn, it is more hassle than it’s worth for our toddler.  And don’t even get me started on the guy who separates the 2-ply toilet paper–who has the time?!

In this blog, I hope to compile different tips that work for our family to help us all live a simpler, more enjoyable, and less expensive life….without the sacrifice!

Leave a Reply

 
